Your access to legal representation and information about your rights does not diminish if you are arrested and charged with the same offense more than once. It’s possible you feel hopeless about your circumstances and that there’s no way out. That’s not how it works at all. Even if you’ve been arrested multiple times for DUI, theft, or assault, you have the right to be represented by competent legal counsel.
Consequences of a Third DUI Offense
You need the experience and expertise of a well-respected Pennsylvania PFA lawyer when you’re in a tight spot and need a lawyer who knows the law. You are more than just a face in the crowd; you are a person of interest to us. In 2018, the penalties for repeat offenders of drunk driving laws were increased from a misdemeanor to a felony. The associated high death toll from drunk driving is to blame.
Keep in mind that every state has its own set of laws regarding punishment for repeat offenders. The laws in Pennsylvania are clearly laid out, but if you don’t have an attorney who knows how to interpret the law, you risk having your rights ignored and being overcharged. DUI offenders facing their first conviction can expect to spend anywhere from two to three months in jail and up to $500 in fines. A second violation for driving under the influence has a minimum sentence of three months in jail or 90 days, and a minimum fine of $1,000. Three DUI convictions can result in six months in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Repeat offenders face the possibility of being charged with a felony and are subject to even harsher penalties for subsequent DUI offenses that occur within a 10-year period. As a general rule, police pull people over for no good reason, which can be a violation of their constitutional rights. Our clients get their cases resolved after we represent them in court and show that they were wrongly accused or stopped without cause.
Severe Consequences for Persistent Shoplifters
Theft offenders who steal repeatedly are punished according to a moral code. This is determined by the worth of whatever was allegedly stolen from the victim. A third conviction for theft of $1,000 or more in goods constitutes a third-degree felony. In addition to a possible $15,000 fine, a person found guilty might spend up to seven years in jail.